10. Armstrong Antiques, Armstrong Clothing, Arlington Hotel, Built 1884, Hotel until 1919, Modernized, porch removed
The historic Arlington Hotel (1884-1919) building continues to stand on this corner, though the balcony on Biddle Ave has been removed and the façade has been covered with red galvanized panels.
When operating as a hotel, band concerts entertained citizens on hot summer nights. At the time this was the leading Class A hotel in Wyandotte, with Captain John B. Ford and other prominent guests staying here.
In 1920 the building was leased by Frank Armstrong for use as a mens clothing store. The north elevation facing Oak St remains intact with segmental brick window hoods and stone sills, though all windows have been filled in with bricks. Today the building is occupied by Armstrong Antiques..
The highly visible location of this building in downtown Wyandotte, suggests that a sensitive architectural treatment would help to enforce Wyandotte’s historic character. Unique architectural features include the clipped corner, large two-story windows with segmental window hoods, corbelled cornice, raised panels in the center with parapet piercing the cornice and terminating in a pediment, and cast iron windows on the first floor with glass transom above.